Any number of the spectacular Gilded Age mansions on Long Island could have inspired Scott Fitzgerald's timeless novel The Great Gatsby. But the most likely candidate is the fantastic, Gothic Beacon Towers—a Gold Coast landmark from 1917-1945. Like many of its neighbors, this house had pedigree; it was lived in by both Alva Belmont (an ex-Vanderbilt and widow of Oliver Belmont) and William Randolph Hearst. Hearst then sold it in 1942 and it was demolished in 1945.
Mining tycoon Lewis Leonard Bradbury once lived in this whimsical, Queen-Anne style mansion in LA's Bunker Hill neighborhood—the swankiest of places at the time of the home's construction in 1887. The mansion later become the headquarters of Hal Roach's Rolin Film Company, but by then the place had become so drafty that silent film star Harold Lloyd dubbed it "Pneumonia Hall." The once-glorious estate was demolished in 1929
This house was demolished.
Less is certainly not more when it comes to Victorian houses. If your preferred architectural style is "completely over the top," you'll love this former gem of Portland, known as the C.M. Forbes Mansion, constructed in 1887. The actual style is called Eastlake, and this is one of the finest examples we've ever laid eyes on. But because all good things must come to an end, the building was demolished in the 1930s, and a high-rise condo occupies the site today.
The Quason Lodge in Chatham was demolished.
The house is known as the Kenrick House and as the Sparrow House, and is on the Town’s Historic Inventory on file with the Massachusetts Historical Commission. Our heritage in seafaring, agriculture, commerce, education, government, religion, and our outsized role in our nation’s wars are all ingrained within the walls of this house.
The house was demolished in the fall of 2005.
A historic stone house in Midland Park built decades before the American Revolution has been demolished, despite preservation efforts.The Van Zile House was built in 1736. It was one of Bergen County’s original Dutch stone houses, part of a trio of historic stone homes in Midland Park and Wyckoff that were once all on the same farm. The home was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 but fell into disrepair.
Calling it a “blatant disregard for the rules,” but still wondering aloud what action they can take, members of the Martha’s Vineyard Commission (MVC) began their review of the premature demolition of the Mill House in Vineyard Haven at their land use planning committee (LUPC) meeting Monday evening.
The historical commission will hold a hearing June 19 on a proposal to fully demolish the George Taylor House at 356 Stage Harbor Rd., a 146-year-old three-quarter Cape located across the street from the Atwood House Museum.
The commission will hold a second hearing June 19 on home on the historic street, but the proposal for the circa 1850 Greek Revival house at 239 Stage Harbor Rd. calls for replacing a section of the foundation, not fully demolishing the structure.